• Biblioteca
  • Biblioteca
  • Biblioteca
Acceso al Catálogo
Propuesta adquisición
Préstamo interbibliotecario (Biblioteca)
Gestiona tu carné
Información comunitaria
Formación y difusión
Agenda cultural (Biblioteca)
Trámites y servicios
Redes sociales (Biblioteca)
Ayudas y subvenciones (Biblioteca)
Premios y concursos (Biblioteca)
Normativa (Biblioteca)

"Lord of the Flies" by William Golding

Lord of the Flies has trapped the members of our Reading Club.

Lord of the Flies / William GoldingThe work
Following a plane crash where all the adults died, a group of children lands on a desert island. The novel describes the gradual transformation of the schoolchildren from an almost Adamic state of primitive innocence to the most refined instrumentation of Evil. The children create a society of their own style and end up in a tyrannical and perverse organization ruled by the strongest. The allegory of the innate cruelty of the human being patiently draws this conversion, which occurs from Western civilized values to the most abject tribal degradation. A magnificent novel that admits different and even opposite readings.
Lord of the Flies is the first and most famous novel by William Golding. Published in 1954 and based on the author's own experiences during the war, it is considered a classic of post-war English literature. It has been made into a film twice: in 1963, directed by Peter Brook and in 1990, directed by Harry Hook.

The author
William GoldingEnglish writer and poet, considered one of the great English-language authors of the 20th century, William Golding was born in Newquay (Great Britain, 1911). From a very socially and politically active family, he studied English literature at Oxford, publishing his first collection of poems in 1934. After World War II, in which he participated as a member of the British navy, he managed to publish his first and best-known novel in 1954, entitled Lord of the Flies. From that moment, Golding went on to devote himself to literature and to develop various political, social and literary theories related to this same work.
This great novel was followed by others with similar themes, always presided over by an analysis of the dark condition of the human being:The Inheritors (1955), The Spire (1964), and the trilogy Rites of Passage (1980, Booker Price), Close Quarters (1987) and Fire Down Below (1989). He also wrote two volumes of essays: The Hot Gates (1965) and A Moving Target (1982). His last novel, which he left unfinished, The Double Tongue, was published in 1995.
Among other prizes and awards, Golding won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1983 for his ability to unite both the dark reality of the human being with a vibrant spirit of adventure. Five years later he was made a Knight of the Order of the British Empire.
William Golding died in Perranaworthal (Great Britain) in 1993.

If you do not want or cannot participate in the Reading Club but you are interested in reading this work, it is at your disposal in the Biblioteca Municipal de Burgos.

Catálogo de Bibliotecas
Bibliotecas de Castilla y León
Biblioteca Nacional
WorldCat de OCLC
Catálogo de la Biblioteca de la UBU
Catálogo colectivo REBIUN
The European Library